Housing Awards


The third annual Housing Awards were presented on Tuesday, 20th March 2018 and recognise the providers of student accommodation in Middlesbrough and individual staff members who students feel have gone the extra mile.
TS1 Students, Kexgill Middlesbrough and Limetree Student Living have all triumphed at the Teesside University Students’ Union Housing Awards 2018. The event, held in front of an invited audience on Tue 20th March, saw TS1 pick up the Best Large Student Accommodation Provider title. Meanwhile Kexgill were judged Best Medium Sized Student Accommodation Provider and Limetree Student Living collected Best Overall Small Student Accommodation Provider. All of the awards were decided by hundreds of responses to the annual Rate Your Landlord survey which invites students to give their landlord feedback across a range of criteria.

Those who receive the highest ratings pick up the gongs. Staff from TS1 Student Accommodation, Kexgill Middlesbrough, Limetree Student Living, Atha Developments, Rede House - Fortis Student Living and Campus Lifestyle also picked up “Star Staff Member” prizes recognising their commitment to the very best customer service for student tenants.

Georgina Arksey, Former President Welfare at Teesside University Students’ Union, said: “The awards are not an endorsement of any of the winners by TUSU but they do reflect the feedback we’ve had from hundreds of students in our Rate Your Landlord Survey. Our congratulations to all of the winners, it’s clear from the feedback we’ve received from students and our own dealings with them this past year that that they are committed to providing the best possible accommodation to their tenants. We’ll be aiming to make our accreditation scheme for landlords and letting agents even bigger and better in 2018/19!".


Best Overall Large Student Accommodation Provider - TS1 Student Accommodation

Best Overall Medium Student Accommodation Provider - Kexgill Middlesbrough

Best Overall Small Student Accommodation Provider - Limetree Student Living.

Star Staff Members - Stacey Short (TS1 Student Accommodation), Jo Riley (Campus Lifestyle), Mike Vout (Campus Lifestyle), Tom Atha (Atha Developments), Jack Atha (Atha Developments), Emma Colbeck (Kexgill Middlesbrough), Kirstie Gribbin (Kexgill Middlesbrough), Terry Gordon (Kexgill Middlesbrough), Nicola Lee (Rede House - Fortis Student Living), Neil McSorley (Rede House - Fortis Student Living), Lynne Hardy (Rede House - Fortis Student Living), Olly Turner (Limetree Student Living), Eileen and Colin Milward (Milwards), Helen Sharkey (Student Living Teesside), David Gray (David Gray), Rebecca Thorpe (Hunters), Sally Bullock (Teesside University).